A blue flash

Walking round the village this morning, I peered down at the river on both sides of the Bridge Street bridge over the River Dene.  Usually it just looks dark and muddy – but today, a bright flash of blue burst out from under the bridge and disappeared upstream!

I knew that kingfishers are seen along the river, but it’s the first one I’ve seen in the village in the twenty years I’ve lived here, so it was rather special. What made it even better, was that I’d downloaded the Birdtrack app onto my phone only this morning – so I could upload the details of the sighting on the spot, instead of waiting until I got home.

Screen Shot 2014-10-11 at 20.07.33

What a good start to using the app!  It was pretty easy to use (you need to join the main Birdtrack site first) – and it’s free.  There are also free apps for recording mammals, butterflies and ladybirds (which each feed into the irecord site) but I might have to wait a bit longer before I can try those out.

DN

1 comment
  1. Brilliant! I’ll be down there asap hoping for a lucky blue streak. I’ve seen one on the canal right underneath Spaghetti Junction, so why not Kineton too?

Leave a Reply

